Wednesday, February 8, 2023
Hawai'i Free Press

Current Articles | Archives

Tuesday, May 24, 2011
Only 53% of House Seats change hands in 7 years
By News Release @ 11:01 AM :: 7462 Views :: Hawaii State Government, Hawaii Statistics

Term limits vs. natural turnover

From Hawaii House Democrats Blog

Rep. Kyle Yamashita made a interesting comment during the session that I've been meaning to follow up on. He observed that since he's been in office, elected in 2004, first session in 2005, over 50% of the seats in the House have changed. If 50% of the seats have changed in 7 years, how does that impact the argument for term limits as a legislative policy?  

Here are the Representatives for the 2005 session (Rep. Yamashita's first session) compared to the Representatives for the 2011 session.  Below, the districts in BOLD are ones in which the Representative has changed in the past 7 years. There are 27 changes out of 51 seats, which is indeed more than half.  


District 1

Mark Nakashima (2011)

Dwight Takamine (2005)

District 2

Jerry Chang (2011)

Jerry Chang (2005)

District 3

Clift Tsuji (2011)

Clift Tsuji (2005)

District 4

Faye Hanohano (2011)

Helene Hale (2005)

District 5

Robert Herkes (2011)

Robert Herkes (2005)

District 6

Denny Coffman (2011)

Josh Green (2005)

District 7

Cindy Evans (2011)

Cindy Evans (2005)

District 8

Joseph Souki (2011)

Joseph Souki (2005)

District 9

Gilbert Keith-Agaran (2011)

Bob Nakasone (2005)

District 10

Angus McKelvey (2011)

Kam Tanaka (2005)

District 11

George Fontaine (2011)

Chris Halford (2005)

District 12

Kyle Yamashita (2011)

Kyle Yamashita (2005)

District 13

Mele Carroll (2011)

Mele Carroll appointed (2005)

Sol Kahoohalahala (2005)

District 14

Derrick Kawakami appointed (2011)

Hermina Morita (2011)

Hermina Morita (2005)

District 15

James Kunane Tokioka (2011)

Ezra Kanoho (2005)

District 16

Dee Morikawa (2011)

Bertha Kawakami (2005)

District 17

Gene Ward (2011)

Gene Ward (2005)

District 18

Mark Hashem (2011)

Lyla Berg (2005)

District 19

Barbara Marumoto (2011)

Barbara Marumoto (2005)

District 20

Calvin Say (2011)

Calvin Say (2005)

District 21

Scott Nishimoto (2011)

Scott Nishimoto (2005)

District 22

Scott Saiki (2011)

Scott Saiki (2005)

District 23

Tom Brower (2011)

Galen Fox (2005)

District 24

Isaac Choy (2011)

Kirk Caldwell (2005)

District 25

Della Au Belatti (2011)

Brian Schatz (2005)

District 26

Sylvia Luke (2011)

Sylvia Luke (2005)

District 27

Corinne Ching (2011)

Corinne Ching (2005)

District 28

Karl Rhoads (2011)

Ken Hiraki (2005)

District 29

Joey Manahan (2011)

Jun Abinsay (2005)

District 30

John Mizuno (2011)

Dennis Arakaki (2005)

District 31

Linda Ichiyama (2011)

Glenn Wakai (2005)

District 32

Aaron Johanson (2011)

Lynn Finnegan (2005)

District 33

Blake Oshiro (2011)

Blake Oshiro (2005)

District 34

Mark Takai (2011)

Mark Takai (2005)

District 35

Henry Aquino (2011)

Alex Sonson (2005)

District 36

Roy Takumi (2011)

Roy Takumi (2005)

District 37

Ryan Yamane (2011)

Ryan Yamane (2005)

District 38

Marilyn Lee (2011)

Marilyn Lee (2005)

District 39

Marcus Oshiro (2011)

Marcus Oshiro (2005)

District 40

Sharon Har (2011)

Mark Moses (2005)

District 41

Ty Cullen (2011)

Jon Riki Karamatsu (2005)

District 42

Rida Cabanilla (2011)

Rida Cabanilla (2005)

District 43

Kymberly Pine (2011)

Kymberly Pine (2005)

District 44

Karen Awana (2011)

Michael Kahikina (2005)

District 45

Jo Jordan appointed in 2011

Maile Shimabukuro (2011)

Maile Shimabukuro (2005)

District 46

Gil Riviere (2011)

Michael Magaoay (2005)

District 47

Jessica Wooley (2011)

Colleen Meyer (2005)

District 48

Ken Ito (2011)

Ken Ito (2005)

District 49

Pono Chong (2011)

Pono Chong (2005)

District 50

Cynthia Thielen (2011)

Cynthia Thielen (2005)

District 51

Chris Lee (2011)

Tommy Waters (2005)


TEXT "follow HawaiiFreePress" to 40404

Register to Vote


808 Silent Majority

ACA Signups Hawaii

Alliance Defending Freedom

Aloha Pregnancy Care Center

American Council of Trustees and Alumni


Antonio Gramsci Reading List

A Place for Women in Waipio

Astronomy Hawaii

Back da Blue Hawaii

Ballotpedia Hawaii

Better Hawaii

Broken Trust

Build More Hawaiian Homes Working Group

Christian Homeschoolers of Hawaii

Cliff Slater's Second Opinion

DVids Hawaii


Fix Oahu!

Frontline: The Fixers

Genetic Literacy Project

Grassroot Institute

Hawaii Aquarium Fish Report

Hawaii Aviation Preservation Society

Hawaii Catholic TV

Hawaii Christian Coalition

Hawaii Cigar Association

Hawaii Coalition Against Legalized Gambling

Hawaii ConCon Info

Hawaii Credit Union Watch

Hawaii Crop Improvement Association

Hawaii Debt Clock

Hawaii Defense Foundation

Hawaii Family Forum

Hawaii Farmers and Ranchers United

Hawaii Farmer's Daughter

Hawaii Federalist Society

Hawaii Federation of Republican Women

Hawaii Future Project

Hawaii Gathering of Eagles

Hawaii History Blog

Hawaii Homeschool Association

Hawaii Jihadi Trial

Hawaii Legal News

Hawaii Legal Short-Term Rental Alliance

Hawaii Matters

Hawaii's Partnership for Appropriate & Compassionate Care

Hawaii Public Charter School Network

Hawaii Rifle Association

Hawaii Shippers Council

Hawaii Smokers Alliance

Hawaii State Data Lab

Hawaii Together



Hiram Fong Papers

Homeschool Legal Defense Hawaii

Honolulu Navy League

Honolulu Traffic

House Minority Blog

Imua TMT

Inouye-Kwock, NYT 1992

Inside the Nature Conservancy

Inverse Condemnation

Investigative Project on Terrorism

July 4 in Hawaii

Kakaako Cares

Keep Hawaii's Heroes

Land and Power in Hawaii

Legislative Committee Analysis Tool

Lessons in Firearm Education

Lingle Years

Malulani Foundation

Managed Care Matters -- Hawaii

Malama Pregnancy Center of Maui

Military Home Educators' Network Oahu

Missile Defense Advocacy

MIS Veterans Hawaii

NAMI Hawaii

National Christian Foundation Hawaii

National Parents Org Hawaii

NFIB Hawaii News

No GMO Means No Aloha

Not Dead Yet, Hawaii

NRA-ILA Hawaii

Oahu Alternative Transport


OHA Lies

Opt Out Today

Patients Rights Council Hawaii

PEACE Hawaii

People vs Machine

Pritchett Cartoons

Pro-GMO Hawaii


Rental by Owner Awareness Assn

ReRoute the Rail

Research Institute for Hawaii USA

Rick Hamada Show

RJ Rummel

Robotics Organizing Committee

Save Dillingham Airfield

School Choice in Hawaii

Sink the Jones Act

Statehood for Guam

Talking Tax

Tax Foundation of Hawaii

The Real Hanabusa

Time Out Honolulu

Trustee Akina KWO Columns

UCC Truths

US Tax Foundation Hawaii Info

VAREP Honolulu

West Maui Taxpayers Association

What Natalie Thinks

Whole Life Hawaii