Friday, June 21, 2024
Hawai'i Free Press

Current Articles | Archives

Thursday, November 13, 2014
House Announces Committee Chairs, Leadership
By News Release @ 3:13 AM :: 4818 Views :: Hawaii State Government

House Announces Committee Leadership

News Release from House Majority Caucus November 12, 2014

House Speaker Joseph M. Souki has announced the appointments of the House of Representatives Majority leadership lineup for the 28th Legislature which convenes Jan. 21, 2015.

“The team that we have formed represents the kind of talents and abilities that will best serve our residents and will address the issues facing our state,” Souki said. “We look forward to engaging in meaningful discussions with Governor-elect David Ige and his administration to continue to identify ideas and solutions to help Hawaii move forward.”

Members of the House Leadership are as follows:

· Speaker of the House Joseph M. Souki

· Vice Speaker John M. Mizuno

· Majority Leader Scott K. Saiki

· Majority Floor Leader  Cindy Evans

· Majority Whip  Ken Ito

· Asst. Majority Leader  Chris Lee

· Asst. Majority Leader  Roy M. Takumi

· Speaker Emeritus  Calvin K.Y. Say

2015 House Committee Chairpersons:

· Agriculture (AGR)

Clift Tsuji, Chair

Richard H.K. Onishi, Vice Chair

· Economic Development & Business (EDB)

Derek S.K. Kawakami, Chair

Sam Kong, Vice Chair

· Veterans, Military & International Affairs (VMI)

Romy M. Cachola, Chair

Ken Ito, Vice Chair

· Tourism & Culture and the Arts (TCA)

Tom Brower, Chair

Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

· Labor & Public Employment (LAB)

Mark M. Nakashima, Chair

Jarrett Keohokalole, Vice Chair

· Public Safety (PBS)

Gregg Takayama, Chair

Kyle T. Yamashita, Vice Chair

· Transportation, (TRN)

Henry J.C. Aquino, Chair

Matthew LoPresti, Vice Chair

· Health (HLT)

Della Au Belatti, Chair

Dee Morikawa, Vice Chair

· Housing (HSG)

Mark J. Hashem, Chair

Richard Creagan, Vice Chair

· Human Services (HUS)

Mele Carroll, Chair

Bertrand Kobayashi, Vice Chair

· Energy & Environmental Protection (EEP)

Chris Lee, Chair

Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

· Ocean, Marine Resources & Hawaiian Affairs (OMH)

Kaniela Ing, Chair

Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

· Water & Land (WAL)

Ryan I. Yamane, Chair

Ty J.K. Cullen, Vice Chair

· Education (EDN)

Roy M. Takumi, Chair

Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

· Higher Education, (HED)

Isaac W. Choy, Chair

Linda Ichiyama, Vice Chair

· Finance (FIN)

Sylvia Luke, Chair

Scott Y. Nishimoto, Vice Chair

· Legislative Management (LMG)

Scott Y. Nishimoto, Chair

John M. Mizuno, Vice Chair

· Consumer Protection & Commerce (CPC)

Angus L.K. McKelvey, Chair

Justin H. Woodson, Vice Chair

· Judiciary (JUD)

Karl Rhoads, Chair

Joy San Buenaventura, Vice Chair


TEXT "follow HawaiiFreePress" to 40404

Register to Vote


Aloha Pregnancy Care Center


Antonio Gramsci Reading List

A Place for Women in Waipio

Ballotpedia Hawaii

Broken Trust

Build More Hawaiian Homes Working Group

Christian Homeschoolers of Hawaii

Cliff Slater's Second Opinion

DVids Hawaii


Fix Oahu!

Frontline: The Fixers

Genetic Literacy Project

Grassroot Institute

Hawaii Aquarium Fish Report

Hawaii Aviation Preservation Society

Hawaii Catholic TV

Hawaii Christian Coalition

Hawaii Cigar Association

Hawaii ConCon Info

Hawaii Debt Clock

Hawaii Defense Foundation

Hawaii Family Forum

Hawaii Farmers and Ranchers United

Hawaii Farmer's Daughter

Hawaii Federation of Republican Women

Hawaii History Blog

Hawaii Jihadi Trial

Hawaii Legal News

Hawaii Legal Short-Term Rental Alliance

Hawaii Matters

Hawaii Military History

Hawaii's Partnership for Appropriate & Compassionate Care

Hawaii Public Charter School Network

Hawaii Rifle Association

Hawaii Shippers Council

Hawaii Together


Hiram Fong Papers

Homeschool Legal Defense Hawaii

Honolulu Navy League

Honolulu Traffic

House Minority Blog

Imua TMT

Inouye-Kwock, NYT 1992

Inside the Nature Conservancy

Inverse Condemnation

July 4 in Hawaii

Land and Power in Hawaii

Lessons in Firearm Education

Lingle Years

Managed Care Matters -- Hawaii

Missile Defense Advocacy

MIS Veterans Hawaii

NAMI Hawaii

National Parents Org Hawaii

NFIB Hawaii News

NRA-ILA Hawaii


OHA Lies

Opt Out Today

Patients Rights Council Hawaii

Practical Policy Institute of Hawaii

Pritchett Cartoons

Pro-GMO Hawaii

Rental by Owner Awareness Assn

Research Institute for Hawaii USA

Rick Hamada Show

RJ Rummel

School Choice in Hawaii

Talking Tax

Tax Foundation of Hawaii

The Real Hanabusa

Time Out Honolulu

Trustee Akina KWO Columns

West Maui Taxpayers Association

What Natalie Thinks

Whole Life Hawaii