Sunday, April 14, 2024
Hawai'i Free Press

Current Articles | Archives

Thursday, November 17, 2022
Hawaii State Senate Announces Leadership, Committee Chairs for 2023
By News Release @ 3:03 PM :: 2100 Views :: Hawaii State Government

Hawaii State Senate Announces Leadership, Committee Chairs for 2023

News Release from Hawaii State Senate, Nov. 16, 2022


President: Senator Ronald D. Kouchi 
Vice President: Senator Michelle N. Kidani 
Majority/Caucus Leader: Senator Dru Mamo Kanuha 
Majority Floor Leader: Senator Glenn Wakai 
Majority Assistant Floor Leader: Senator Lynn DeCoite 
Majority Policy Leader: Senator Les Ihara 
Majority Whip: Senator Lorraine Inouye 
Majority Assistant Whip: Senator Gil Keith-Agaran 
Majority Assistant Whip: Senator Chris Lee 
Majority Assistant Whip: Senator Tim Richards 

Committee Chairs: 

Agriculture and Environment (AEN) 

Chair: Senator Mike Gabbard 
Vice Chair: Senator Tim Richards 

Commerce, Consumer Protection (CPN) 

Chair: Senator Jarrett Keohokalole 
Vice Chair: Senator Carol Fukunaga 

Education Chair (EDU) 

Chair: Senator Michelle Kidani 
Vice Chair: Senator Donna Mercado Kim 

Energy, Economic Development and Tourism (EET) 

Chair: Senator Lynn DeCoite 
Vice Chair: Senator Glenn Wakai 

Government Operations (GVO) 

Chair: Senator Angus McKelvey 
Vice Chair: Senator Mike Gabbard 

Hawaiian Affairs (HWN) 

Chair: Senator Maile Shimabukuro 
Vice Chair: Senator Kurt Fevella 

Health and Human Services (HHS) 

Chair: Senator Joy San Buenaventura 
Vice Chair: Senator Henry Aquino 

Higher Education (HRE) 

Chair: Senator Donna Mercado Kim 
Vice Chair: Senator Michelle Kidani 

Housing (HOU) 

Chair: Senator Stanley Chang 
Vice Chair: Senator Dru Mamo Kanuha 

Judiciary (JDC) 

Chair: Senator Karl Rhoads 
Vice Chair: Senator Mike Gabbard 

Labor and Technology (LBT) 

Chair: Senator Sharon Moriwaki 
Vice Chair: Senator Chris Lee 

Public Safety, Intergovernmental, and Military Affairs (PSM) 

Chair: Senator Glenn Wakai 
Vice Chair: Senator Brandon Elefante 

Transportation and Culture & Arts (TCA) 

Chair: Senator Chris Lee 
Vice Chair: Senator Lorraine Inouye 

Water and Land (WTL) 

Chair: Senator Lorraine Inouye 
Vice Chair: Senator Brandon Elefante 

Ways and Means (WAM) 

Chair: Senator Donovan M. Dela Cruz 
Vice Chair: Senator Gilbert Keith-Agaran 


MN: Minority senators announce leadership -- "Oahu Sen. Kurt Fevella will remain Senate minority leader, while fellow Oahu Sen. Brenton Awa will be the Senate minority floor leader."


MN: Maui Senators earn leadership positions and committee assignments

TGI: Kouchi back as state Senate president


TEXT "follow HawaiiFreePress" to 40404

Register to Vote


808 Silent Majority

Aloha Pregnancy Care Center


Antonio Gramsci Reading List

A Place for Women in Waipio

Ballotpedia Hawaii

Broken Trust

Build More Hawaiian Homes Working Group

Christian Homeschoolers of Hawaii

Cliff Slater's Second Opinion

DVids Hawaii


Fix Oahu!

Frontline: The Fixers

Genetic Literacy Project

Grassroot Institute

Hawaii Aquarium Fish Report

Hawaii Aviation Preservation Society

Hawaii Catholic TV

Hawaii Christian Coalition

Hawaii Cigar Association

Hawaii ConCon Info

Hawaii Debt Clock

Hawaii Defense Foundation

Hawaii Family Forum

Hawaii Farmers and Ranchers United

Hawaii Farmer's Daughter

Hawaii Federalist Society

Hawaii Federation of Republican Women

Hawaii History Blog

Hawaii Homeschool Association

Hawaii Jihadi Trial

Hawaii Legal News

Hawaii Legal Short-Term Rental Alliance

Hawaii Matters

Hawaii's Partnership for Appropriate & Compassionate Care

Hawaii Public Charter School Network

Hawaii Rifle Association

Hawaii Shippers Council

Hawaii Smokers Alliance

Hawaii State Data Lab

Hawaii Together



Hiram Fong Papers

Homeschool Legal Defense Hawaii

Honolulu Moms for Liberty

Honolulu Navy League

Honolulu Traffic

House Minority Blog

Imua TMT

Inouye-Kwock, NYT 1992

Inside the Nature Conservancy

Inverse Condemnation

Investigative Project on Terrorism

July 4 in Hawaii

Kakaako Cares

Keep Hawaii's Heroes

Land and Power in Hawaii

Legislative Committee Analysis Tool

Lessons in Firearm Education

Lingle Years

Managed Care Matters -- Hawaii

Malama Pregnancy Center of Maui

Military Home Educators' Network Oahu

Missile Defense Advocacy

MIS Veterans Hawaii

NAMI Hawaii

National Christian Foundation Hawaii

National Parents Org Hawaii

NFIB Hawaii News

No GMO Means No Aloha

Not Dead Yet, Hawaii

NRA-ILA Hawaii

Oahu Alternative Transport


OHA Lies

Opt Out Today

Patients Rights Council Hawaii

PEACE Hawaii

People vs Machine

Practical Policy Institute of Hawaii

Pritchett Cartoons

Pro-GMO Hawaii


Rental by Owner Awareness Assn

ReRoute the Rail

Research Institute for Hawaii USA

Rick Hamada Show

RJ Rummel

Robotics Organizing Committee

School Choice in Hawaii

Sink the Jones Act

Statehood for Guam

Talking Tax

Tax Foundation of Hawaii

The Real Hanabusa

Time Out Honolulu

Trustee Akina KWO Columns

UCC Truths

US Tax Foundation Hawaii Info

VAREP Honolulu

West Maui Taxpayers Association

What Natalie Thinks

Whole Life Hawaii