Sunday, March 3, 2024
Hawai'i Free Press

Current Articles | Archives

Thursday, June 21, 2012
HGEA Announces Candidate Endorsements for State, County Races
By News Release @ 5:05 PM :: 7610 Views :: Energy, Environment


Slate of endorsed candidates announced for state and county races (Editor’s Note: Republicans are highlighted in yellow.)

HGEA is pleased to announce its list of endorsed candidates for the 2012 Primary Election.

“After much deliberation, we have a full slate of candidates we believe can make a positive difference in our state and counties,” said State Political Action Committee Chair Jon Gasper. “Our political action committees spent many hours conducting interviews with candidates, and studying their backgrounds and positions. We believe this list of endorsed candidates represents individuals who share HGEA’s commitment to supporting public employees and improving the lives of Hawaii’s people.”

The political action committees are composed of HGEA members across the state from each of HGEA’s bargaining units, and excluded/managerial and retirees unit.

The HGEA-endorsed candidates are:

(NOTE: An “open” endorsement means the union does not endorse a candidate. Members are encouraged to support and vote for any of the candidates in that race. “No action taken" means candidates did not contact HGEA for endorsement consideration in a timely manner or at all. “No endorsement” means the union determines that none of the candidates are suitable for endorsement and support.)

* Incumbent



District 1: Donald Ikeda

District 2: Open

District 3: Josh Green*

District 4: Open

District 5: Shan Tsutsui*

District 6: Roz Baker*

District 7: Kalani English*

District 8: Ron Kouchi*

District 9: Kurt Lajala

District 10: Les Ihara*

District 11: Brian Taniguchi*

District 12: Brickwood Galuteria*

District 13: Suzanne Chun Oakland*

District 14: Open

District 15: Glenn Wakai*

District 16: David Ige*

District 17: Alex Sonson

District 18: Michelle Kidani*

District 19: Will Espero*

District 20: Mike Gabbard*

District 21: Maile Shimabukuro*

District 22: Donovan Dela Cruz*

District 23: Clayton Hee*

District 24: Jill Tokuda*

District 25: Pohai Ryan*



District 1: Mark Nakashima*

District 2: Clift Tsuji*

District 3: Richard Onishi

District 4: Faye Hanohano*

District 5: Denny Coffman*

District 6: Kalei Akaka

District 7: Open

District 8: Joe Souki*

District 9: Gil Keith-Agaran*

District 10: Angus McKelvey*

District 11: Colin Hanlon

District 12: Kyle Yamashita*

District 13: Mele Carroll*

District 14: Derek Kawakami*

District 15: Open

District 16: Daynette “Dee” Morikawa*

District 17: No Action Taken

District 18: Mark Hashem*

District 19: Bert Kobayashi

District 20: Open

District 21: Scott Nishimoto*

District 22: Tom Brower*

District 23: Isaac Choy*

District 24: Della Au Belatti*

District 25: Sylvia Luke*

District 26: Scott Saiki*

District 27: Takashi Ohno

District 28: John Mizuno*

District 29: Karl Rhoads*

District 30: Nicole Velasco

District 31: Open

District 32: Linda Ichiyama*

District 33: K. Mark Takai*

District 34: Eloise Tungpalan

District 35: Roy Takumi*

District 36: Marilyn Lee*

District 37: Ryan Yamane*

District 38: Henry Aquino*

District 39: Ty Cullen*

District 40: No Action Taken

District 41: Matthew LoPresti

District 42: No Endorsement

District 43: Hanalei Aipoalani

District 44: Jo Jordan*

District 45: Jake Bradshaw

District 46: Marcus Oshiro*

District 47: No Action Taken

District 48: Jessica Wooley*

District 49: Ken Ito*

District 50: No Action Taken

District 51: Chris Lee*



City Council

District 1: Open

District 3: Ikaika Anderson*

District 5: Ann Kobayashi*

District 7: Joey Manahan

District 9: Ron Menor

Prosecuting Attorney

Keith Kaneshiro*



County Council

District 1: Valerie Poindexter

District 2: Open

District 3: Dennis “Fresh” Onishi*

District 4: Fred Blas*

District 5: Zendo Kern

District 6: Maile David or Bradley Westervelt

District 7: Dru Kanuha

District 8: Karen Eoff

District 9: Oliver “Sonny” Shimaoka

Prosecuting Attorney

Lincoln Ashida



County Council

East Maui: Bob Carroll*

Wailuku-Waihee-Waikapu: Mike Victorino*

Kahului: Open

Molokai: Manuwai Peters

Pukalani-Kula-Ulupalakua: Gladys Baisa*

Lanai: Riki Hokama*

West Maui: No Action Taken

South Maui: Don Couch, Jr.*

Makawao-Haiku-Paia: Mike White*



County Council

Jay Furfaro*

Gary Hooser

Ross Kagawa

KipuKai Kualii*

Nadine Nakamura*

Mel Rapozo*

Prosecuting Attorney

Justin Kollar



HGEA previously announced its endorsements for the following candidates:

U.S. President Barack Obama

U.S. Vice President Joe Biden

U.S. Senate Mazie Hirono

U.S. House of Representatives, Congressional District 1 Colleen Hanabusa

U.S. House of Representatives, Congressional District 2 Mufi Hannemann

City & County of Honolulu Mayor Kirk Caldwell

County of Hawaii Mayor Billy Kenoi

# # #

About HGEA HGEA was founded in 1934 to ensure fair and equitable representation for government employees. HGEA is the largest labor union in Hawaii, with more than 42,000 members. HGEA represents state and county employees in seven bargaining units. HGEA also serves a large associate membership composed primarily of retirees, other state and county employees and officials, and federal and private sector employees.


TEXT "follow HawaiiFreePress" to 40404

Register to Vote


808 Silent Majority

Aloha Pregnancy Care Center


Antonio Gramsci Reading List

A Place for Women in Waipio

Ballotpedia Hawaii

Broken Trust

Build More Hawaiian Homes Working Group

Christian Homeschoolers of Hawaii

Cliff Slater's Second Opinion

DVids Hawaii


Fix Oahu!

Frontline: The Fixers

Genetic Literacy Project

Grassroot Institute

Hawaii Aquarium Fish Report

Hawaii Aviation Preservation Society

Hawaii Catholic TV

Hawaii Christian Coalition

Hawaii Cigar Association

Hawaii ConCon Info

Hawaii Debt Clock

Hawaii Defense Foundation

Hawaii Family Forum

Hawaii Farmers and Ranchers United

Hawaii Farmer's Daughter

Hawaii Federalist Society

Hawaii Federation of Republican Women

Hawaii History Blog

Hawaii Homeschool Association

Hawaii Jihadi Trial

Hawaii Legal News

Hawaii Legal Short-Term Rental Alliance

Hawaii Matters

Hawaii's Partnership for Appropriate & Compassionate Care

Hawaii Public Charter School Network

Hawaii Rifle Association

Hawaii Shippers Council

Hawaii Smokers Alliance

Hawaii State Data Lab

Hawaii Together



Hiram Fong Papers

Homeschool Legal Defense Hawaii

Honolulu Moms for Liberty

Honolulu Navy League

Honolulu Traffic

House Minority Blog

Imua TMT

Inouye-Kwock, NYT 1992

Inside the Nature Conservancy

Inverse Condemnation

Investigative Project on Terrorism

July 4 in Hawaii

Kakaako Cares

Keep Hawaii's Heroes

Land and Power in Hawaii

Legislative Committee Analysis Tool

Lessons in Firearm Education

Lingle Years

Managed Care Matters -- Hawaii

Malama Pregnancy Center of Maui

Military Home Educators' Network Oahu

Missile Defense Advocacy

MIS Veterans Hawaii

NAMI Hawaii

National Christian Foundation Hawaii

National Parents Org Hawaii

NFIB Hawaii News

No GMO Means No Aloha

Not Dead Yet, Hawaii

NRA-ILA Hawaii

Oahu Alternative Transport


OHA Lies

Opt Out Today

Patients Rights Council Hawaii

PEACE Hawaii

People vs Machine

Practical Policy Institute of Hawaii

Pritchett Cartoons

Pro-GMO Hawaii


Rental by Owner Awareness Assn

ReRoute the Rail

Research Institute for Hawaii USA

Rick Hamada Show

RJ Rummel

Robotics Organizing Committee

School Choice in Hawaii

Sink the Jones Act

Statehood for Guam

Talking Tax

Tax Foundation of Hawaii

The Real Hanabusa

Time Out Honolulu

Trustee Akina KWO Columns

UCC Truths

US Tax Foundation Hawaii Info

VAREP Honolulu

West Maui Taxpayers Association

What Natalie Thinks

Whole Life Hawaii